Welcome to the South African Pharmacy Council (SAPC) website. The SAPC is an independent statutory body created as a result of the recognition of the pharmacy profession by the legislature in South Africa, as a specific occupational group.

It is established in terms of the Pharmacy Act, 1974 (Act 53 of 1974). SAPC is run by a council consisting of twenty–five (25) members with the mandate of ensuring the provision of quality pharmaceutical services in South Africa by developing, enhancing, and upholding universally acceptable standards, professional ethics and conduct, ongoing competence and pharmaceutical care.

The day to day functioning of SAPC is run by the Registrar/ Chief Executive Officer.